SSC CGL Exam Syllabus 2017 – Latest UpToDate

SSC will publish advertisement on 11 March 2017 for SSC CGL Exam 2017. The exam will start from 19 June 2017. So the candidates who are already preparing for SSC CGL exam should check the latest up to date syllabus for SSC CGL exam 2017. Here you can view and download SSC CGL syllabus 2017.

The SSC CGL Exam is due in July 2017 and candidates must be itching to know the syllabus for Tier I so that they can start their preparations early. Since the exam is attended by millions of candidates in India, it has become important for a candidate to start his preparation as early as possible. However, correct knowledge of the syllabus allows a candidate to gain an edge over other students. So, to meet the requirements of such candidates, here is the syllabus for CGL Exam 2017, Tier I:

SSC CGL Syllabus 2017 Tier I

1) Intelligence and Reasoning: This is the first section that you will see in the question paper. This section is full of tricky questions that require the use of logic. A total of 50 questions will come from this section and each will carry a mark. The scope syllabus for this subject includes the following chapters:

Number Series Semantic Series Analogy
Seating and Arrangement Venn Diagrams Indexing
Blood relationships Figural Pattern Decision making
Coding-Decoding Critical Thinking Judgement and Analysis

However, this is not the end of the syllabus for this section. The examining authority reserves the power to ask something ‘out of the box’ as well. Nevertheless, the above mentioned chapters are commonly asked in the exam.

2) General Awareness: This is one of the most challenging sections for the candidates. The purview of this section can extend to anything and everything. A total of 50 questions would be asked from this section and a candidate has the opportunity to score a total of 50 marks. The areas from where questions are commonly asked include the following:

Indian Economy Indian Geography General Policy of India
Sport- personality Country-currency International organizations
Award-personality Current events Memorable days
Research Book-Author Indian History

3) Quantitative Aptitude: SSC CGL Exam syllabus next section resembles a mixture of mathematics, trigonometry and data interpretation. Candidates often find this area as a good opportunity to score as problems from the Arithmetic section and data interpretation are very easy. Some of the key chapters are:

Profit & Loss Percentage Time & Work
Circle Triangle Bar diagram
Histogram Mixture & Alligation Frequency Polygon
Basic Algebra Pie Chart Mean, Median & Mode

Apart from the above mentioned sections, a candidate may be asked questions on other scope of quantitative aptitude as well.

4) English Comprehension: English is an integral part of every competitive exam. Candidates are required to show their skills in English such that they are able to operate flawlessly when designated with a work in future. Test of English is basically made on a basic level and hence, it becomes easy for candidates who have a strong hold on the subject from early on. Following are some of the important areas:

Comprehension Adjectives Sentence Completion
Antonyms Synonyms Sentence rearrangement
Para Jumble Word-Meaning

The above mentioned SSC CGL Exam syllabus is only for Tier I examination. Candidates should be aware of the fact that this syllabus would be used for framing questions in the first tier only, which will be conducted through a 2-hour test consisting of 200 marks (50 marks for each section).

Download Official Notification Including Syllabus for Tier I & Tier II exam

SSC CGL Exam Recent Updates

UpdatesCheck Here
Update on 3-1-2017: Re-examination of Tier II 2016 exam on 12 January 2017 & 13 January 2017Check Here Notice
Update on 1-12-2016: SSC CGL Tier II 2016 exam cancelled (1-12-2016) on five examination venues because of some technical issues and malpractices. SSC will soon publish exam dates and centres.
Update on 18-11-2016: Uploading of Admission Certificate (CGLE 2016) Tier II Apply Online
Update on 9-11-2016: CGL Tier II Exam Notice for Examination Date and Time Check Here
Update on 9-11-2016: Clarification Regarding Result of CGLE 2016 (Tier-I) Check Here
Update on 8-11-2016: CGL (Tier I) Result Announced Check Here
Update on 3-11-2016: CGLE 2017 NoticeCheck Here
Update on 19-10-2016: Important Message of Chairman Check Here

SSC CGL Exam 2017 Important Pages

Particulars Visit Here
Preparation Tips Check Here
Results Check Here
Syllabus Check Here
Exam Pattern Check Here
Application Form Apply Online
Eligibility Criteria Check Here
Admit Card Check Here
SSC CGL Main Page Check Here
SSC Open Vacancies Check Here
SSC Calendar 2017 | 2018 Check Here